Loading
Loading

Results

  • Collage
Sort By:  1-10 of 75 (8 pages)
Results per page:
         

Rudolf Fabry

Michael Richardson

Michael Richardson is Visiting Fellow in the Centre for Cultural Studies at Goldsmiths University of London, UK. Author affiliation details are correct at time of print publication.

Search for publications

The International Encyclopedia of Surrealism Volume 2 : Surrealists A–L

Bloomsbury Academic, 2019

Encyclopedia Article

...Rudolf Fabry was a poet and collagist who initiated surrealism in Slovakia during the 1930s, advocating a “poetry of new vision” and establishing an individual surrealist voice in his earliest collection Vodné hodiny hodiny piesoèné (Water...

Karel Šebek

Michael Richardson

Michael Richardson is Visiting Fellow in the Centre for Cultural Studies at Goldsmiths University of London, UK. Author affiliation details are correct at time of print publication.

Search for publications

The International Encyclopedia of Surrealism Volume 3 : Surrealists M – Z

Bloomsbury Academic, 2019

Encyclopedia Article

...A poet and collagist on the margins of the Prague group during the 1960s, Šebek’s life was marked by mental illness and prolonged stays in clinical institutions, during which time he also took part in experiments with LSD. First introduced...

Leo Dohmen

Michael Richardson

Michael Richardson is Visiting Fellow in the Centre for Cultural Studies at Goldsmiths University of London, UK. Author affiliation details are correct at time of print publication.

Search for publications

The International Encyclopedia of Surrealism Volume 2 : Surrealists A–L

Bloomsbury Academic, 2019

Encyclopedia Article

...A photographer and collagist who also worked as a chemist, engineer, bartender at illegal nightclubs, art dealer, and gallery owner, Leo Dohmen was inspired by Marcel Duchamp and Man Ray, and worked closely with Marcel Mariën for whose...

Joseph Cornell

Dawn Ades

Dawn Ades is Professor Emerita at the University of Essex. Her publications include Dada and Surrealism (1974), Photomontage (1976), Salvador Dali (1982), Andre Masson (1994), Marcel Duchamp (with Neil Cox and David Hopkins, 1999), Surrealism in Latin America: Vivisimo muerto (with Rita Eder and Gabriela Speranza) (2012). She has curated or co-curated many major exhibitions on surrealism and linked themes. Author affiliation details are correct at time of print publication.

Search for publications

The International Encyclopedia of Surrealism Volume 2 : Surrealists A–L

Bloomsbury Academic, 2019

Encyclopedia Article

...In collage, montage, and assemblage, Joseph Cornell found working practices, pioneered by the surrealists but almost unknown in the U.S.A. at the time, that wholly suited him. An inveterate collector, he was fascinated by the flotsam...

John Digby

Michael Richardson

Michael Richardson is Visiting Fellow in the Centre for Cultural Studies at Goldsmiths University of London, UK. Author affiliation details are correct at time of print publication.

Search for publications

The International Encyclopedia of Surrealism Volume 2 : Surrealists A–L

Bloomsbury Academic, 2019

Encyclopedia Article

...A poet and collagist of startlingly precise imagery drawn from careful observations of nature (he was once a keeper at London Zoo), John Digby was involved with surrealism in London during the 1970s before decamping to New York. His volumes...

Josette Exandier

Michael Richardson

Michael Richardson is Visiting Fellow in the Centre for Cultural Studies at Goldsmiths University of London, UK. Author affiliation details are correct at time of print publication.

Search for publications

The International Encyclopedia of Surrealism Volume 2 : Surrealists A–L

Bloomsbury Academic, 2019

Encyclopedia Article

...The daughter of a school teacher, Josette Exandier spent most of her life as an art teacher. She was introduced into surrealist circles by the anthropologist Roger Renaud in the 1970s when she began making collages, using material she...

Bona

Michael Richardson

Michael Richardson is Visiting Fellow in the Centre for Cultural Studies at Goldsmiths University of London, UK. Author affiliation details are correct at time of print publication.

Search for publications

The International Encyclopedia of Surrealism Volume 2 : Surrealists A–L

Bloomsbury Academic, 2019

Encyclopedia Article

...The niece of Italian painter Filippo De Pisis, Bona participated in surrealism after meeting the writer André Pieyre de Mandiargues in 1947, whom she later married. She is particularly noted for her collages made from textiles and natural...

Alois Nožička

Krzysztof Fijalkowski

Krzysztof Fijalkowski is Professor of Visual Culture at Norwich University of the Arts, UK, and has published widely on international surrealism. As an artist and writer, he has also participated in the activities of contemporary surrealist groups. Author affiliation details are correct at time of print publication.

Search for publications

The International Encyclopedia of Surrealism Volume 3 : Surrealists M – Z

Bloomsbury Academic, 2019

Encyclopedia Article

...Though his formal participation in the surrealist movement may have been limited, photographer Alois Nožička has an important place in the tradition of Czech and Slovak surrealist photography that stretches from the experiments of Jindřich...

Juan Batlle Planas

Michael Richardson

Michael Richardson is Visiting Fellow in the Centre for Cultural Studies at Goldsmiths University of London, UK. Author affiliation details are correct at time of print publication.

Search for publications

The International Encyclopedia of Surrealism Volume 2 : Surrealists A–L

Bloomsbury Academic, 2019

Encyclopedia Article

...A major artist, poet, theoretician, and teacher in Argentina, Juan Batlle Planas was initially oriented to art through his uncle, José Planas Casas. Batlle Planas was introduced to Zen thought in 1928, and made his first experiments...

Ei-Q

The International Encyclopedia of Surrealism Volume 3 : Surrealists M – Z

Bloomsbury Academic, 2019

Encyclopedia Article

...Ei-Q was born Hideo Sugita in 1911 in Miyazaki, a city and a prefecture on the Japanese island of Kyūshu, one of seven children of a local ophthalmologist. He grew up surrounded by books, as both his father and older brother were passionate...